August 5, 2021 | Source: Hawaii Public Radio

HPR welcomes new Board of Directors officers and Community Advisory Board cohort

HPR is pleased to announce several additions to its governing bodies, effective July 19, 2021.

Francis S. Oda, Chairman of G70, has been elected Chair of HPR’s Board of Directors. Kathryn (Kathy) Matayoshi, Senior Vice President at HMSA, has been elected Vice Chair. Additionally, Nancy Budd of Kauaʻi, outgoing Chair of the station’s Community Advisory Board, has been elected to HPR’s Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors is the entity which is legally responsible for the governance of HPR as a nonprofit corporation. It also holds the FCC broadcast licenses for the radio stations operating as HPR. More about the Board of Directors.

The station also welcomes ten community members from across the state to its Community Advisory Board (CAB) Class of 2023. The CAB is an adjunct to HPR’s Board of Directors and provides feedback to HPR management on station programming and community outreach opportunities. Members were selected from more than 140 nominations, making it the most competitive selection process to date. Each member will serve a two-year term. More about the CAB.

Community Advisory Board Class of 2023

Kevin Chang, Kāne‘ohe, O‘ahu
Andy Collins, Honoka‘a, Hawai‘i Island
Edward Joseph, Kapolei, O‘ahu
Lee Imada, Wailuku, Maui
Sylvia Flores, Honolulu, O‘ahu
Faith Elarionoff, Hilo, Hawai‘i Island
Benjamin Willkie, Kailua, O‘ahu
Pat Griffin, Līhu‘e, Kaua‘i
Pamela Haulani Medeiros, Kailua, O‘ahu
Cathy Ching, Honolulu, O‘ahu

The station also welcomes Richard Morris of Honolulu for a one-year term, filling a vacancy in the Class of 2022.

Thomas Benedict of Honolulu has been elected Chair of the Community Advisory Board, and will serve on HPR’s Board of Directors in an ex-officio position.

Read the Full Article on